Eighty Eight Banbury

Crusty No-Knead Ciabatta

4 Comments

bread boardThis is bread for dummies. Seriously. I’ve never baked successful bread. My last attempt resulted in sugary tasting rocks. So, as usual, I was skeptical that this one would work. So skeptical was I that when it worked brilliantly the first time I baked another two loaves right away just to make sure it was fail safe! If I can, so can you!

Mix in a bowl:
3 cups standard flour, 1 teaspoons salt, 1/2 teaspoon instant dry yeast (I use Edmonds of course. It’s labelled ‘good for breadmakers’). Add 1 and 1/2 cups of water and mix until shaggy dough forms. Cover with Gladwrap and leave to sit on the bench for 12+ hours (I think 14-16 hours is perfect. One loaf ended up at almost 22 hours and it was super holey.)
Put cast iron pot (lid on) into a heated oven (200 degrees C). Meanwhile, put the dough onto a floured surface (be generous with the flour) and shape into a ball.  Cover with the plastic wrap again and leave alone until the pot has heated for 30 minutes.
Take the pot from the oven (warning:HOT!) and drop the bread dough in. Sprinkle with extra flour and any toppings as desired (sea salt, herbs, whatever you like). Pop the lid back on and cook for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes check the bread – mine tends to need another 10 with the lid off. However you need to watch the colour carefully so that it ends up golden brown not black!
Remove from oven and cool on a rack.
Tip: If you tap the bottom of the bread with your knuckles it will sound hollow when cooked.

bread board2
That’s it! I don’t claim this recipe in any way. It’s as old as bread is and no one really knows who first invented it, however I based my recipe on the one listed at Simply So Good.
4 thoughts on “Crusty No-Knead Ciabatta

  1. I have never made successful bread or scones or anything, really. They usually resemble paper weights or hockey pucks. This might be the ticket!

  2. I love homemade bread. It’s even better when it’s easy to make.

Leave a Reply

